The Dark Age series—free in any format until the pandemic ends

The Bones of the Earth

The Dark Age, eastern Europe: the earth has decided to rid itself of humanity with earthquakes, volcanoes and new plagues. Civilizations, even the mighty Roman Empire, crumble under the pressure of barbarian waves that are fleeing worse terrors.

Rejected by his own people, pursued by a dragon, young Javor heads for Constantinople, the centre of civilization, looking for answers to the puzzle of his great-grandfather’s dagger and the murder of his family.

On the ancient, crumbling Roman highway across haunted, deserted Dacia, Javor rescues the beautiful Danisa from a human sacrifice. He cannot help falling in love with her. But Danisa has her own plans, and when she is kidnapped again, Javor has to wonder: what is the connection between his dagger, his lover and his enemies?

“With his debut novel, Scott Bury has firmly established his place in the fantasy genre.”
—KD Rush, Amazon reviewer

“Entertaining from first to last and I was sorry to see the story end.”
— Diana L. Endresen, Amazon reviewer

“By the end of the novel, I felt cheated it didn’t continue.”
—Raquae, Amazon reviewer

Read a sample.

Add it to your Goodreads shelf: The Bones of the Earth (Dark Age Trilogy, #1)

Get it as an e-book from:

Get it in paperback from:

Back to all books.

Initiation Rites

Part 1 of The Bones of the Earth

The Dark Age. The Earth has turned on humanity with earthquakes, volcanic eruptions and a new plague that kills the Roman Emperor himself. Barbarian invasions shatter civilizations.

In this chaos, Javor comes of age in a poor, remote village. Try as he might, though, he never fits in with his own people. There is just something about him that keeps him apart from the others.

When barbarian raiders kidnap the girl he loves, he takes a mysterious dagger handed down from his great-grandfather and tries to rescue her. But while he’s away, a horror that Javor could never believe existed murders his parents and devastates his village.

Javor begins his quest for revenge, not realizing that he is entering a war against forces bent on eliminating humanity.

Initiation Rites is a stand-alone novella that is also Part 1 of The Bones of the Earth.

“A story that sucked me in with its expertly written scenes… visuals of earthy characters and a time so raw that life was laid bare in the face of unspeakable evil.”—Marilyn D., Amazon reviewer

Read a sample.

Buy it as an e-book from:

Back to all books.